What is ITIL?
Date: Friday, August 13 @ 05:32:50 UTC
Topic: ITIL

Formally: ITIL defines the organisational structure and skill requirements of an IT area and documents a set of operational management procedures to allow management of an IT operation and infrastructure. Importantly, the operational procedures are supplier independent.

The ITIL framework itself comprises seven 'sets' (or volumes): Service Support; Service Delivery; ICT Infrastructure Management; Security Management ; Planning To Implement Service Management; The Business Perspective; Applications Management;

The two most commonly used are the first two, Service Support and Service Delivery. These comprise of a number of 'disciplies':

Service Support: Incident Management; Release Management; Problem Management; Configuration Management; Change Management; Service Desk.

Service Delivery: Service Level Management; IT Service Continuity Management; IT Financial Management; Capacity Management; Availability Management; IT Security Management

Supporting this approach is a structure of examination and certification. The three levels of certification are: three levels of certification are ITIL: Foundation Certificate, Practitioners Certificate and Managers Certificate.

This article comes from ITIL & ISO 20000 User Group

The URL for this story is: